Mushroom, Leek, & Bacon Tart

Three or four years ago, any tart with leeks as a main ingredient would not have been something that I’d have ever sought out or prepared. How times have changed! I am still left-centre on the onion spectrum: I love spring onions, now eat shallots and apparently leeks, but draw the line at “obvious” onions that aren’t blended well enough. And I will not consume raw onions. But H. says with this tart I am one step closer to Zwiebelkuchen [“onion cake”], one of his favourite meals that I won’t eat, as it’s …..a cake (well, more of a tart ;)). With onions. Das reicht nicht!

The comments in the original recipe link say it all. This meal comes together very quickly — the prep is minimal, using store-bought puff pastry. Someone suggested it was a perfect last-minute dinner party dish and I agree completely. I made a few modifications. I could not get a hold of Gruyere locally, and so substituted with Parmesan. I also added bacon: we had half a package in the fridge that needed using up, and what tart doesn’t taste better with bacon? (FYI I added the bacon at the same time as the cheese and noted that it only needed a further 2-3 minutes in the oven, not the 5-7 as suggested in the recipe). With a big dose of freshly ground pepper, this is a dish I’d happily order in a restaurant.

leek tart

leek tart 1

2 thoughts on “Mushroom, Leek, & Bacon Tart

  1. but i'm hungry 09/11/2014 / 1:29 am

    Looks wonderful! Mushrooms…. Bacon… Leeks… Some of my favorite things!

    • K.M. 10/11/2014 / 5:14 pm

      Yes it was very good! I urge you to give it a try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

