Roast Chicken with Jerusalem Artichoke Risotto

A few weekends ago, I picked up some Jerusalem artichokes at the market. I had never cooked with them before and wanted to try something new. About a bit of searching I was inspired by two recipes, this one for the puree, and Diana Henry’s braised chicken, and decided to create my own version loosely based on the two.

I made this on a weeknight and, with some multi-tasking, it is completely doable. In fact, it didn’t take as long as I thought. Note that these steps are approximate. Quantities and thus cooking times for the chicken will vary accordingly.

  1. Clean and prep the artichokes* and place them in a pot of boiling water, along with the juice of half a lemon. Boil until tender (this only took about 12 minutes).
  2. Meanwhile, heat 1 tsp butter & glug of olive oil in a pan, and season and then brown your chicken. I used 4 thighs for 2 people.
  3. Combine drained artichokes with ~100ml of cream, as well as salt and pepper, and puree (note that mine was not completely smooth, but this added texture to the finished product so I think is completely fine). Set aside.
  4. Start the risotto: heat some oil in a pan, add a clove of garlic, smashed, and after a minute or so, your rice.
  5. Once browned, transfer chicken to a roasting pan along with some carrots or other veg as desired.
  6. Deglaze the risotto pan with white wine, and continue adding stock and stirring until it is done to your likeness (I like mine to have a bit of bite).
  7. Combine it all: mix the artichoke puree into the finished risotto and top with some Parmesan cheese, and take the chicken and veg out of the oven. Plate and enjoy!

*Diana Henry says it’s not necessary to peel them. Thank God I read that because I did try, and it was very tedious. The important thing is to clean them well.

I was really happy with the way this meal turned out. The taste of the risotto was subtler than expected, but using the artichokes was a different take on it, and I think really added to it both textural- and taste-wise. The combination of roast chicken and the risotto, in my mind at least, works perfectly.

IMG_6050

Leave a Reply

