Smoked Haddock & Leek Risotto

To me, this is the perfect late winter/early spring ‘transition’ meal. I know some of my Canadian readers will want to scream when they read this, but here in London it’s felt like spring for about a month now. Daffodils are out and trees are blooming. But it’s odd: we’re into spring without ever really having had winter — in my mind anyway. We had no snow other than a few days of flurries, and maybe 1 or 2 days below freezing temperatures.

Anyway, onto the risotto. This recipe is adapted from….wait for it….Lidl magazine, which I received free with my Saturday Guardian a about a month ago (yes, I made this at the beginning of March!). For some reason it caught my eye, and I ordered some smoked haddock in order to try it out. Here’s my version:

Smoked Haddock & Leek Risotto

 

  1. Cook the haddock (300g): I followed the method used in the original recipe, a warm milk bath. This is not a method I had used before, but it seemed it work: “place the fish into a dish and cover with the hot milk [250ml], black peppercorns and bay leaf. Allow to sit for 10-15 minutes then flake the fish into pieces discarding any bones or skin, strain the milk and reserve.”
  2. Meanwhile, start the risotto: melt 1.5 tablespoon butter in a saucepan and add in a large handful of chopped leeks as well as one chopped shallot. Cook gently for ~7 minutes.
  3. Add arborio rice and lightly toast for 1-2 minutes, until the rice begins to look translucent. Then deglaze the pan with a cup (~230ml) of white wine. Continue cooking, adding in vegetable stock one ladle at a time, until the rice is your preference of done-ness (I like mine slightly al dente).
  4. When the rice is finished, stir in some grated Parmesan and 2 tsp wholegrain mustard, along with the fish and a bit of the milk for extra creaminess. Garnish with some finely chopped parsley or chives.

As risottos go, this was a fairly rich one, even without the mascarpone that the original recipe called for! However, it was delicious, and definitely one I will be making again. H. claimed it was his favourite risotto I’ve made, and there have been quite a few of them. The smokiness of the fish mixed with the leek worked very well together. My stomach is grumbling just thinking about it!

IMG_6433 (2)

One thought on “Smoked Haddock & Leek Risotto

Leave a Reply

