Tahini Cookies

Over the last couple of years, tahini has become one of my favourite ingredients. I have used it in everything from cheesecake to salads to smoothies and the results have always been good.

I’d had my eye on the recipe in Jerusalem for a while and finally got around to making them one evening last week. The cookies are easy to prepare with only a few ingredients. Here’s how to make them:

Tahini cookies, from Jerusalem by Yotam Ottolenghi and Sami Tamimi

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C (note: I found this a little high and would recommend 180).
  2. Beat together 130g caster sugar with 150g unsalted, softened butter.
  3. Once creamed, add in 110g light tahini paste (nb: I used regular), ½ tsp vanilla essence, and 25ml double cream. Then stir in 270g plain flour.
  4. From here, the recipe says to knead until smooth. I found this wasn’t really necessary as the dough came together quite easily. It’s definitely the first time I’ve seen kneading in a cookie recipe.
  5. Shape the dough into cookies, press down with a fork, sprinkle with a bit of cinnamon on top (I forgot to do this), and bake for 15-17 minutes until golden brown.*

*The baking time says 15-17 minutes. I had my first batch in for 14 mins and a few of them came out very black on the bottom (see below!). The second batch was in for 11 mins and still a few of those were ‘over-coloured.’ I am blaming my ancient oven for this one but, as a forewarning, make sure you keep an eye on them.

Both H. and I loved these, as did some special overnight visiting guests we had, and I think I’ll definitely be making them again soon, possibly experimenting with a little less sugar (I think they’d be just fine with 80-100g). The texture is very similar to shortbread but the taste is smooth and unique — just the right amount of sweetness for breakfast, dessert, or a snack.

IMG_6463 (2)

 

Leave a Reply

