Proust Questionnaire

Since posts are have been few and far between lately (I’ve not been cooking at all 😦 ), I thought I’d post something a little different, my own version of the famous Proust Questionnaire.


What is your idea of perfect happiness?
Reading a good book at sunrise or sunset in Sandy Cove, with either a cup of coffee (former) of glass of wine (latter).

What is your greatest fear?
Inadequacy.

Which historical figure do you most identify with?
Jackie Kennedy! Ha.

Which living person do you most admire?
I can’t pinpoint one. I admire a lot of people. But I’ll give an example: I admire my partner for choosing a career that he knew wouldn’t be easy but one that he loves and brings joy to a lot of people.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
Perfectionism – a constant battle against – and the feeling of needing to please others.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Arrogance.

What is your favourite journey?
The 101 SW bound.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?
Certain forms of temperance and patience. But only certain forms.

What is your greatest extravagance?
Travel.

On what occasion do you lie?
To protect feelings, occasionally.

What do you most dislike about your appearance?
My front teeth and pointy nose (from the side).

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
According to one of my grandfathers, “okay.”

What is your greatest regret?
I have made a few poor choices with regards to my career, but ultimately don’t want to think of them in terms of “regret.”

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
H. and my family. And books.

When and where were you happiest?
It is impossible to choose a time, but if forced I’d say South Africa, August 2008.

Which talent would you most like to have?
More upper body strength and the ability to read music.

What is your current state of mind?
Overworked, rather chaotic, but calmer now that it’s the weekend.

Which living person do you most despise?
Difficult one. Hard to pinpoint. I’ll choose a category instead: those who exploit the vulnerable for personal gain.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
I would be better at managing guilt or rather not have it at all.

If you could change one thing about your family, what would it be?
Distance.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
My education to date.

If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be?
A person!

If you could choose what to come back as, what would it be?
It might be fun to be a bird or whale.

What is your most treasured possession?
Some of my jewelry, books, and some of my late grandmother’s things (perfume, sweaters, and scarves).

What is the quality you most like in woman?
Humility, sense of humour.

What is the quality you most like in a man?
Awareness of sensitivity (does that make sense?).

What is your most marked characteristic?
Don’t I have to ask someone else that? My organizational skills?

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
Complacency.

Where would you like to live?
In a house by the (Atlantic) ocean.

What is your favourite occupation?
Book critic.

Who are your heroes in real life?
My grandfathers, JMM & JWR.

What is it that you most dislike?
Injustice.

How would you like to die?
Quietly and peacefully (wouldn’t we all?).

What is your motto?
“Press on regardless.”

Leave a Reply

