Reykjavik, Iceland

I know I’m publishing two travel posts almost back-to-back, but I am trying to keep some semblance of chronological order on the blog. After our week in Scotland with my family, H. and I spent three weeks back in London. I packed as much as I could in, work-wise, in those 3 weeks — submitted four chapters of my PhD to my second supervisor, and turned in the final copy of the syllabus for the course I am teaching this fall. Then it was time for our ‘real’ summer vacation, Nova Scotia. I say ‘real’ because I have taken/am taking the 2 weeks off completely from work, which I have not done for a very long time and which was desperately needed.

When we originally looked at flights, back in early spring, I figured it wasn’t going to happen this year: return trip prices via Air Canada were out-of-the-question high. However, on further digging we came across an option that we could afford: a three-legged trip, via Iceland on the way there, at half the price of the Air Canada option.

That’s how we ended up spending 30 hours in Reykjavik. Aside from some problems with public transportation, this city completely charmed us. We packed a lot in and managed to eat and drink local delicacies, do a walking tour, and even see the Gay Pride Parade. Reykjavik has a very laid-back, accessible, family feel to it. We loved it, and really want to return to Iceland one day to see it properly.

Delicious sweets at Sandholt
Delicious sweets at Sandholt
The aftermath
The aftermath
Harpa, Reykjavik's concert venue
Harpa, Reykjavik’s concert venue

IMG_6856

IMG_6876

IMG_6881

Yummy fish and chips @ Reykjavik Fish
Yummy fish and chips @ Reykjavik Fish
Delicious lobster soup
Delicious lobster soup
Gay Pride Parade
Gay Pride Parade
Leave a Reply

