Chicken, Leek, & Kale Pie with Cheddar Crumble

Ever since we have been back in London I have been on a bit of leek craze. Leeks have been plentiful at the farmers’ market and I have been picking up a few every week (so expect a few leek-related posts to come).

One of the midweek meals I made was this “pie” from Diana Henry, a self-described “cook who loves words.” The concept of a savoury crumble intrigued me and the combination of ingredients sounded like it would work.

Well, it did! This was straightforward to make (although not terribly quick if you’re starting without leftover chicken), satisfying on a winter evening, and very moreish. The recipe doesn’t specify what cut of chicken to use; I only had breast and I found that it worked absolutely fine as there is a lot of moisture with the sauce (if you’re using breasts from scratch make sure to not overcook them — my preferred method is poaching in stock). Boneless thighs would probably be ideal though.

I added in the kale as I had some lying around. I also found there was a bit too much of the topping, but that’s personal preference.

I really liked this dish — it just screams “snowy rainy winter night.” H. loved it too but we differed on whether it was better than Rachel Allen’s chicken and leek pie that I made back in October. I preferred Rachel’s whereas H. preferred this one. 🙂

IMG_7528 (2)

IMG_7535

3 thoughts on “Chicken, Leek, & Kale Pie with Cheddar Crumble

  1. MeaghanC 22/01/2016 / 8:30 pm

    Looks so good! Will definitely try this recipe

    • K.M. 23/01/2016 / 8:23 am

      It was very tasty! You’ll like it. Forgot to mention the kale though. I just added that in case I had lots lying around.

  2. KayJay 25/01/2016 / 12:05 pm

    I wish my belly would deal better with leek as I love the flavour, too! And isn’t it funny that on the same day you posted, over at Smitten another leeky recipy was posted? 🙂 Great mind (or bellies??) cook alike, as they say.

Leave a Reply

