Pear, Chia, & Poppy Seed Muffins

After the long reign of inaugural Guardian Cook baker resident Ruby Tandoh, American Claire Ptak took over the post in December. Although I liked Ruby, it is a refreshing change, and I’ve found a lot of Claire’s recipes to be very tempting (my plan for later today is to visit her bakery here in London!). Claire’s emphasis is on ‘baking with the seasons’ which I can definitely get behind.

I decided to give her pear muffins a try, since pears are plentiful at the market right now. I followed the recipe exactly except for the flours: I used a combination of plain and rye.

With only 50g of sugar, these muffins don’t taste particularly indulgent. These really are more breakfast muffins than a mid-afternoon sweet treat. But the texture – if you like poppy seeds – is spot on. Just a slight bit of crunch and a hint of sweetness. They are filling too, and although I usually have a more substantial breakfast that just a muffin, they do work extremely well alongside a coffee or smoothie.

IMG_7550 (2)
The recipe does make 12 muffins but a few were eaten before I had the chance to snap this!

3 thoughts on “Pear, Chia, & Poppy Seed Muffins

  1. cookiesnchem 16/02/2016 / 1:05 pm

    That looks absolutely incredible! Thanks for sharing your recipe 🙂 I am so glad I just discovered your blog!

    • K.M. 17/02/2016 / 7:54 am

      Thanks so much for the super kind comment!!! Hope you enjoy them. 🙂

      • cookiesnchem 17/02/2016 / 1:33 pm

        Absolutely! Can’t wait to see more in the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

