Three Winter Soups

Winter is definitely the time for soup and I have been making a lot of it ever since we came back from North America last month. The weather we’ve had recently (cold, rainy, windy) has been calling out for warming meals! I tend to make a soup every Sunday, which lasts for a couple of lunches throughout the week. I decided to combine a few of my recent favourites into one post. All of these are winners in my book and definitely ones I will be making again.

Melissa Clark’s Red Lentil Soup with Lemon
Lentils are not the most exciting ingredient but they are very dependable (and nutritious, and cheap!). I tend to buy them in bulk and am always looking for ways to use them up. This is more than just your regular ol’ lentil soup because of the amount of lemon juice (1/2 lemon + more to taste). Lemons are one of my favourite ingredients and in fact that is what attracted me to this soup. This soup will not win any prizes for sophistication but it is very hearty and warming with just the right amount of spice.
IMG_7521 (2)

 

Diana Henry’s Cauliflower, Cheddar, & Cider Soup
Aside from tom yum, cauliflower is my favourite kind of soup. I usually like it simply, with just cream (or milk) and a little grated cheddar. There is nothing more comforting to me. However, the addition of cider brings it to a whole new level — quite simply, this was the best soup I have had in a long time! Make sure to choose a dry cider — anything sweet will be too sweet I think. (Note to readers from  North America: “cider” here means alcoholic cider, not the non-alcoholic version, so make sure you’re using the right kind!). There is obviously a bit of residual sweetness from the apples but it is not overpowering. It’s hard to describe the taste of this one. It is rich and complex and really unusual, but it works.

A terrible photo of an amazing soup!
A terrible photo of an amazing soup!

Thomasina Miers’ Carrot soup with chilli and brown butter
I find that carrot soups can sometimes but a little dull, but not this one. The sweetness of the carrots really shines through and works really well with the chili, yogurt, and dill (sounds like an odd combination but it works). The ‘spiced butter’ is a luxurious addition, but I wouldn’t say 100% necessary. When I initially made this, I didn’t add it in, but the next day when heating some more up for lunch, I did try it. It does add a bit of richness but you can easily get away without it.

IMG_7545 (2)

One thought on “Three Winter Soups

Leave a Reply

