5 YEARS OF MADE WITH LOVE

Birthday-Cupcake

5 years ago, in March 2011, I was living in Germany. I had been there for almost a year by that point. I was, for the first time in my life, really getting into cooking, because I had a kitchen of my own and someone to cook with and for. Since then, a LOT has changed. I still have the same H. by my side, but we have made two transatlantic moves in that time — back to Canada and then to the UK, both in 2012. We’ve now lived 3.5 years in a city I can only describe as dazzling, overwhelming, amazing, and challenging.

In five years, I have posted 381 times, 284 of them about cooking or baking, 25 on travel, and the rest a random assemblage. Things have come a long way since my first post (on fajitas!). I am surprised just how much I have learned in that time. I have pushed myself and gone outside of my comfort zone in terms of what I am able to do in the kitchen, and really quite astonished with my progress when I think back to five years ago.

I have never promoted this blog beyond sharing it with family and friends, and want to sincerely thank everyone who has read it along the way! Thank you for sticking with me!! 🙂

7 thoughts on “5 YEARS OF MADE WITH LOVE

  1. MeaghanC 10/03/2016 / 10:03 pm

    Happy Blog Birthday!! I can’t believe it has been 5 years. Lots of changes in and out of the kitchen. Always enjoy reading what’s happening in your kitchen and seeing photos of your travels. It is nice to feel a little closer to you even though we are so far apart xx

    • K.M. 11/03/2016 / 8:32 am

      Why thank you! Ditto for you. Thank you for being a loyal follower xxx

  2. Jaimie 13/03/2016 / 11:03 pm

    Thank you, Kate – I look forward to reading your blog and some of the links, books, and recipes you share.

    • K.M. 15/03/2016 / 6:44 pm

      Thank you Jaimie!! Really appreciate you following along. 🙂

  3. KayJay 17/03/2016 / 3:20 pm

    Oh wow. Just thought of you and thought it’s time to hop over to your blog as I have a spare few minutes before L comes back. Wow – 5 years of blogging – and it must actually have been around the time we met?? It was one of the AIEO (was that the acronym??) evenings and I remember it was in Johannis in the Dampfnudelbäck and we chatted on the walk back into the city and I was very impressed with your studies and all 🙂 I cannot in fact BELIEVE it was only then that you started cooking – you really are a natural, so! (Little Irishisms are allowed on Paddy’s day I hope!). Big hugs to you!

    • K.M. 18/03/2016 / 8:34 am

      Thank you for what is the sweetest comment ever on this blog!! I believe we met about 8 months before that – I think it was June ’10 and I’d moved to Nbg in April. But yes, I definitely remember Dampfnudelbäck and then the beer festival in the castle moat!!! Get so nostalgic for that time sometimes. xxx

      • KayJay 22/03/2016 / 9:05 am

        Oh boy – terrible memory on my behalf – you’re right I bet!!! Yes, me too – I loved living in Mittlere Kreuzgasse and fondly remember you popping over with a very good bottle of red and good long chats!! xxxx

Leave a Reply

