Another bake sale

It’s no secret now that I love a good bake sale. I have contributed or helped organize a few over the past couple of years. Recently I hosted one in aid of a charity I have been volunteering with for 2.5 years, North London Cares.

I had been wanting to do a bake sale for the charity for quite a while, but the right combination of time and location never seemed to come up. However, an opportunity presented itself earlier this month when H. and his guitar partner J. hosted a concert in our neighbourhood. As they were going to have drinks during the intermission, I decided people might  be hungry as well and thought it would be the perfect opportunity.

Here’s what I baked:

Normally I get a bit stressed about making so many things at once, but surprisingly it went incredibly smoothly, despite the fact that it was my first time making 3/5 goods (brownies, pastries, and carrot cake cookies). I made the brownies and cupcakes (minus the icing) on Friday and the other 3 items, plus the cupcake icing, on Saturday.

Everything went down a treat, with the brownies and cupcakes being the most popular. The carrot cake cookies didn’t look like much but they were really tasty. I’ve since made them again to take to work as a snack. I wouldn’t choose puff pastry for a bake sale again — way too crumbly — but I was glad I decided to do one savoury thing as a couple of people commented on how they were pleased that they had the option.

Special thanks for my friend B. who contributed two other baked goods, cookies and a lemon loaf, and to A. who made gluten- and dairy-free cupcakes. I raised £110!

20160507_183903

2 thoughts on “Another bake sale

  1. KayJay 24/06/2016 / 10:46 am

    Super effort!!!

    • K.M. 26/06/2016 / 12:22 pm

      Thanks. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

