August 2016 Favourites

August bliss, you seem so far away now that it is well and truly back-to-school time. But you were a fantastic month, my favourite yet so far this year I think!

Here are some links:

Does the disappearance of sea ice matter?

◌ Loved Obama’s essay on feminism. And this profile of how he spends his evenings (fascinating).

◌ I read Flannery and loved it. Yes, I’m a bit biased because I love Lisa Moore (and met her this past month!). This novel is billed as YA but has a lot of resonance for all adults, I’d argue.

Ha! Don’t talk to me till one is a professional violinist and one writing a PhD together in a 44 square metre (470 square feet) apartment!

Discovering 2000 year old treasures while on holiday in Greece. Have a look at this!

◌ H. & I started watching Fargo on Netflix and are really enjoying it.

◌ Really looking forward to this cookbook.

Tomato recipes. Love tomato season.

◌ Last but certainly not least, I’m on a major binge of the podcast Chat 10 Looks 3. Big ups to my friend K for telling me about it! Don’t let the odd title put you off  — this podcast is two Australian journalists talking about what they read, watched, ate, saw, etc. It’s fantastic. They are both extremely well-spoken and eloquent. Really loving it, although the recommendations I’m getting from them just keep getting longer and longer.

Here’s to a happy September!

Sunset from my parents' home last month
Sunset from my parents’ home last month
One thought on “August 2016 Favourites

  1. KayJay 02/09/2016 / 10:29 am

    🙂 🙂 🙂 Still so pleased to have discovered Chat 10 myself and even more pleased you like it so much too. Checking out some of your links now 🙂 xxxx

Leave a Reply

