Pear Cake with Chai-Spiced Buttercream & Salted Caramel

Fall is here! The leaves are starting to change, the nights are closing in earlier and earlier, and days are feeling crisp and cooler. I love this time of year.

I have been itching to get back to cooking and sharing. In the first half of September, eating was about survival. There was no innovation or fun dishes, I just wanted to get something on the table. It was some of the most stressful times of my entire career. But, I’m on the other side now: I successfully defended my PhD thesis and am now Dr. saturdayedition! There might be an upcoming post with more reflections on this new stage of my career….or there might not be!

I’m now 10 days post-defense, but just starting to come out of my cocoon. I had (have) a huge “post-viva” (defense) to-do list that I will be working my way through for months. However, with a slightly less crazy schedule now, I hope to be cooking a lot of new dishes this fall.

I’m starting with this cake.

It caught my eye in the September edition of delicious magazine. The recipe comes from Edd Kimber, the winner of the inaugural season of the Great British Bake Off (RIP). The is very much a multi-stage cake. It’s not one that you mix up in one bowl and then forget about in the oven. No, there is lots to do: make the chai butter (hindsight: not worth it), make the salted caramel, simmer the pears, make the batter, bake the cake, cool it, make the icing, and decorate it. Whew. I made it over a 5-hour period (and the magazine says 40 mins hands-on time! Ha).

I  had a bit of a disaster moment when I heated up the caramel and didn’t let it cool down enough before I started drizzling it over the cake — it melted some of the buttercream. Luckily I avoided any true disasters and put it in the freezer for a few minutes to firm up again.

I’d rate this cake a 6/10: the icing was too sickly sweet for me and overall I found it a touch too much work. I don’t think the extra step of making chai butter was really evident in the taste. Also, despite cutting about 1/3 of the sugar in the icing, I found it too overpowering for me, though the taste of the base is quite good.

As usual, I’m often quite hard on things I made. I gave half of this cake to my friend/neighbour, D., and her husband and they seemed to love it (or were very polite!), and H. liked it too.

Delicious is no longer posting their recipes in real time, which is a shame. If anyone would like the recipe please let me know and I will take a photo of it for you!

Apologies for the shocking quality of this pic!
Apologies for the shocking quality of this pic!
Leave a Reply

