Cornwall

I did not expect to be going back to the southwest of the country so soon after H. & I were in south Devon in early October. However, about a month ago, I got a text from my friend B. asking me if I would like to join her on a trip to Padstow. B. is a journalist working in the luxury travel sector. Our trip would include dinner at Rick Stein’s signature Seafood Restaurant and a day at the Cookery School. After a bit of debate I decided this was too good an opportunity to pass up!

This was my first trip to Cornwall and it was a good introduction, though I understand there are lots of beautiful corners to see of this county. We both highly enjoyed our meals at the Seafood Restaurant and loved the day at the cooking school. My personal favourite was learning how to fillet fish and de-bone a chicken. These are skills that I don’t often need, I’ll be honest, but I really loved learning them. It was also a treat to eat so much delicious fresh seafood.

B. and I have known each other for 15+ years and with very full lives don’t get a chance to catch up as often as we would like even though we live in the same city. That was the best part of the weekend for me! 🙂

img_20161021_175508468

img_20161021_210958804

Rick Stein's Cooking School
Rick Stein’s Cooking School
Our self-gutted and -filleted mackerel!
Our self-gutted and -filleted mackerel!

img_20161023_120925213

Leave a Reply

