Mini Updates: Banana Bread Scones, Triple Berry Muffins, Tahini Rye Chocolate Cookies

Time for my second installment of mini updates, my new way of sharing what I’ve been baking and cooking. This one is a baking-related update. I haven’t had much time in the kitchen, but when I do have a free hour or two when A is napping, I find I gravitate to baking or cooking. It’s relaxing and produces a delicious outcome (usually — lol): win-win!

First up: Banana bread scones. This was an …. odd …. one. I came across the recipe on Instagram, funnily enough. I won’t be making it again. They tasted good, but it was a little too odd: not really scone, not cookie, not cake, not bread….a combination.

The recipe for chocolate chip tahini rye cookies is from the Guardian‘s Saturday Feast supplement. These were good, but didn’t blow me away. In fact I’m having trouble recalling them (may be the lack of sleep!). What I did appreciate about this is how easy it is to make. It came together very quickly.

Finally: triple berry muffins. I used this recipe for blueberry muffins here, but instead of all blueberries, used a combination of strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries to use up some old-ish fruit we had. I have used this recipe several times and find it to be pretty reliable. The muffins are quite dense but really good. I also cut the sugar to about 3/4 of a cup. Much better.

triple berry muffins

 

 

 

Leave a comment