Cheddar & Spring Onion Biscuits

Hello again. It’s been 2 months since we moved, and I only now feel that I am slightly closer to  pausing to take a breath — sort of. The blog’s been quiet, for many reasons. Life has been chaotic, sad, and tumultuous lately. Perhaps for that reason as well as others that I can’t quite pin down, I haven’t really felt like cooking or baking much at all. I’m even less excited about cooking in my new (much better!) kitchen. Weird. Many nights I don’t even feel like making supper, which is odd for me.

I’m not putting any pressure on myself to make new stuff, or share it, so I can’t guarantee what updates will look like over the next couple of weeks/months. But I can assure you I’m not finished blogging.

Not feeling like cooking or baking doesn’t necessarily mean I’m not doing it, but it’s more haphazard. A couple of weeks ago I bought buttermilk with intentions to make something completely different (an apple and cinnamon loaf). I never made it, but didn’t want the buttermilk to go to waste. Instead I used it for these biscuits.

I made these an extremely lazy way. Instead of rolling out the dough, folding it, and then cutting out biscuits, as the recipe suggests, I simply mixed all of the ingredients together, but scooped out globs of the dough, flattened it slightly, and baked it as-is. They look messier, but taste the same.

Verdict: These biscuits were not as good as the amazing zucchini ones. In fact I found the inclusion of the spring onions didn’t quite work as well as I thought it would. They were fine, especially toasted with some butter, but in comparison didn’t wow me as much.

ched onion biscuits