Thyme Shortbread

One of my favourite childhood food memories is my grandmother’s baking, and one of her specialties was shortbread. In my mind absolutely no one can rival Nan’s! This recipe doesn’t come close, but it IS very very good. The idea behind the shortbread was to give most away to friends and a couple of H.’s students (plus some for us of course!). I therefore doubled the recipe, which made three batches of about 24 cookies each. Also, please note that I used thyme, not sage as the recipe calls for, as I couldn’t find it in any of the three supermarkets I tried.

Now, regular readers know that although there are several sweet recipes on this blog, I don’t really have a sweet tooth. So I was somewhat surprised when I just could not stop eating these cookies.* The salt in them is a really delicious addition, and I think they are the perfect mix of sweet and savoury.

Thyme shortbread, with a few misshapen ones, haha.
Thyme shortbread, with a few misshapen ones, haha. Not pictured is the slightly overdone first batch!

*As I was writing this I had to grab one of the few we had left!

Leave a comment